×

Analysing the pathways to agricultural commercialisation in sub-Saharan Africa

Image by S.Kilungu. Licensed under CC 2.0 Generic

ABOUT APRA

Which pathways to agricultural commercialisation are the most effective in empowering women, reducing rural poverty and improving food and nutrition security in Sub-Saharan Africa?

Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA) is a six-year research programme of the Future Agricultures Consortium (FAC) which aims to address this question through in-depth, interdisciplinary, comparative research across nine countries. Through this work, APRA is generating high-quality evidence and policy-relevant insights on more inclusive pathways to agricultural commercialisation.

With headquarters at the Institute of Development Studies, APRA will run from 2016 to 2022 with the generous support of the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO).



AREAS OF OPERATION

Image by S.Kilungu. Licensed under CC 2.0 Generic

NEWS

Final eDialogue on ‘Policy Implications’
November 19, 2020

5th eDialogue, ‘Wrap-up and Policy Implications’,25th November Join us for ‘Wrap-up and Policy Implications’, the fifth and final part of the eDialogue series: ‘What Future for Small-Scale Farming?’ on Wednesday, November 25, 12:15 – 14:00 GMT Small-scale farmers are integral to food systems in much of the world. Many householders depend, at least in part, on agriculture… Read more »

BLOG

eDialogue: What Future for Small-Scale Farming? Emerging themes
November 25, 2020

5th eDialogue, ‘Wrap-up and Policy Implications’,25th November By Jim Woodhill, Ken Giller and John Thompson Tuesday 10 November was another fantastic session of our eDialogue series on ‘What Future for Small-Scale Farming?: Inclusive Transformation in Challenging Times’. The panellists explored the complementary roles of commercialisation, food production for self-consumption and social protection in tackling farming household poverty and… Read more »

Newsletter

Subscribe to the FAC mailing list to keep informed about developments in Africa, share insights and follow conference updates.


VIDEOS

Medium-scale farming in Nigeria: pathways to commercialisation
Hannington Odame on Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA)
Dawit Alemu on Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA)
Milu Muyanga, APRA Nigeria
Mirriam Matita, APRA Malawi

Regional Hubs

Future Agricultures has a diverse network of partners in Africa and worldwide, working together on research, communications and policy engagement.

CONTACT

DIRECTORATE/IDS

John Thompson, CEO: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk
Rachel Sabates-Wheeler, Research Director, UK: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk
Oliver Burch, Programme Manager: o.burch@ids.ac.uk
Lesley White, Impact, Communications and Engagement Officer: l.white@ids.ac.uk
Amrita Saha, Post-doctoral Research Officer: a.saha@ids.ac.uk

EAST AFRICA REGIONAL HUB/CABE

Hannington Odame, Regional Coordinator: hsodame@gmail.com

SOUTHERN AFRICA REGIONAL HUB/PLAAS

Cyriaque Hakizimana, Regional Coordinator: chakizimana@plaas.org.za
Ruth Hall, Regional Coordinator: rhall@uwc.ac.za

WEST AFRICA REGIONAL HUB/UNIV OF GHANA

Joseph Yaro, Regional Coordinator: yarojoe@yahoo.com

Image by S.Kilungu. Licensed under CC 2.0 Generic