Video: Political Economy conference plenaries

filming1The six plenary sessions at the Political Economy of Agricultural Policy in Africa conference were filmed in their entirety.

Watch the videos below to see debates on the BRICS, African co-operation, civil society and the policy process.

The conference took place from 18-20 March in Pretoria, South Africa, bringing together representatives from research, politics, donor organisations and civil society in Africa and beyond. For more video, see our series of short interviews with participants.

Plenary 1: Surveying the field

Keynote address by Adebayo Olukoshi (African Institute for Economic Development and Planning). The session is introduced by Colin Poulton, the conference organiser. The Q&A is led by the session chair, Blessings Chinsinga (Future Agricultures, Malawi).

Plenary 2: The BRICS and African agriculture

Speakers: Arilson Favareto (Cebrap/UFABC, Brazil), Sachin Chaturvedi (RIS, India), Li Xiaoyun (CAU, China), Ruth Hall (PLAAS, South Africa). Chair: Ian Scoones (Future Agricultures, UK)

Plenary 3: View from policy makers

Speakers: Erica Maganga (Ministry of Agriculture, Malawi), Hon. Chance Kabaghe (MP Former Minister of Agriculture, Zambia), John Barrett (DFID), Gem Argwings-Kodhek (Future Agricultures, Kenya). Chair: Gaynor Parazda (Future Agricultures, South Africa)

Plenary 4: CAADP 10 years on

Speakers: Mandivamba Rukuni (Mandi Rukuni Seminar Group), Ousmane Djibo (CAADP/NEPAD), Buba Khan (ActionAid International), Colin Poulton (Future Agricultures, Ghana). Chair: Samuel Asuming-Brempong (Future Agricultures, Ghana)

Plenary 5: What Role for Civil Society in Enhancing Agricultural Policy?

Speakers: Fatima Shabodien (ActionAid International), Tamani Nkhono Mvula (CISANET, Malawi), Augustin Loada (Future Agricultures, Burkina Faso), Arilson Favareto (Cebrap/UFABC, Brazil). Chair: Blessings Chinsinga (Future Agricultures, Malawi)

Plenary 6: What Have We Learned?

Panellists: Lindiwe Sibanda (FANRPAN), Kojo Amanor (Institute of African Studies, Ghana), Per Pinstrup-Andersen (UNU-WIDER / Cornell University), Ruth K. Oniang’o (Rural Outreach Program Africa). Chair: Colin Poulton