×

Analysing the pathways to agricultural commercialisation in sub-Saharan Africa

Image by S.Kilungu. Licensed under CC 2.0 Generic

ABOUT APRA

Which pathways to agricultural commercialisation are the most effective in empowering women, reducing rural poverty and improving food and nutrition security in sub-Saharan Africa?

The Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA) consortium is a five-year research programme that works to respond to these issues.  Working across three work streams in six focal countries, APRA aims to generate new evidence on pathways to agricultural commercialisation.

With headquarters at the Institute of Development Studies, APRA has run from 2016 to 2021 and is funded by the Department for International Development (DFID). The consortium will offer high-quality evidence and policy advice that makes a difference in crucial areas of central importance in sub-Saharan Africa.


Learn more about APRA’s objectives and work streams »

AREAS OF OPERATION

Image by S.Kilungu. Licensed under CC 2.0 Generic

NEWS

Reacting to COVID-19: APRA’s rapid response
May 29, 2020

In light of the Covid-19 pandemic, the UK Department for International Development (DFID) commissioned an in-depth review to draw lessons from previous disease outbreaks and other crises that may be relevant to formulating a coherent policy response in developing countries, particularly in Sub-Saharan Africa. The Rapid Evidence Review: Policy interventions to mitigate negative effects on… Read more »

BLOG

Rapid response: how to deal with COVID-19 in rural Africa?
May 29, 2020

Written by Steve Wiggins. What lessons may be drawn from previous health crises to inform responses to COVID-19 in rural Africa? We reviewed seven previous health crises, plus a couple of economic crises, to think about to counter the effects of COVID-19 and its controls on agriculture, food systems, food security and rural livelihoods in… Read more »

Newsletter

Subscribe to the FAC mailing list to keep informed about developments in Africa, share insights and follow conference updates.


VIDEOS

Medium-scale farming in Nigeria: pathways to commercialisation
Hannington Odame on Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA)
Dawit Alemu on Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA)
Milu Muyanga, APRA Nigeria
Mirriam Matita, APRA Malawi

Regional Hubs

Future Agricultures has a diverse network of partners in Africa and worldwide, working together on research, communications and policy engagement.

CONTACT

DIRECTORATE/IDS

John Thompson, CEO: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk
Rachel Sabates-Wheeler, Research Director, UK: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk
Oliver Burch, Programme Manager: o.burch@ids.ac.uk
Lesley White, Impact, Communications and Engagement Officer: l.white@ids.ac.uk
Amrita Saha, Post-doctoral Research Officer: a.saha@ids.ac.uk

RESEARCH DIRECTOR/UNIVERSITY OF MALAWI

Ephraim Chirwa, Research Director, Africa: echirwa@yahoo.com

EAST AFRICA REGIONAL HUB/CABE

Hannington Odame, Regional Coordinator: hsodame@gmail.com

SOUTHERN AFRICA REGIONAL HUB/PLAAS

Cyriaque Hakizimana, Regional Coordinator: chakizimana@plaas.org.za
Ruth Hall, Regional Coordinator: rhall@uwc.ac.za

WEST AFRICA REGIONAL HUB/UNIV OF GHANA

Joseph Yaro, Regional Coordinator: yarojoe@yahoo.com

Image by S.Kilungu. Licensed under CC 2.0 Generic